State Championships

TAWA 2022 States Wrap up

6 Races were held over two days as part of the RPYC Mini-Series.  The wind for the first day started as a moderate southerly in the morning and two races were held.  The third race was sailed after a lunch break and the wind had increased to 20+knots.  The second day started with a light easterly which died during the morning.  Two races were completed in those conditions.  A third race was started but it was abandoned halfway through.  The final race was sailed after the lunch break in a light to moderate sea breeze.  A good range of sailing conditions to test the WA Tasar fleet. 
David and Rhyss put on a dominate performance and finished first across the line in all races to win the 36th TAWA State championship.  As the results below show they didn't get a perfect score sheet after leading the fleet around the wrong course on the first race.  Several of the 'wiser' crews managed to read the course sheet correctly to score a place.
The second race also had some drama when the start team accidentally had both the individual and general recall flags up at the same time when intending to do an individual recall.  This led to some confusion amongst the Tasar fleet with the AVG results in the score sheet the net outcome. 

The strong conditions in the afternoon race on Saturday meant some of the lighter or less experienced crews thought it was safer not to attempt racing.  These same crews found the conditions on the Sunday morning much more to their liking and put in some excellent races.

The third race of the morning that was abandoned left Neil wondering what could have been as he had a good lead with only two legs to sail when the abandonment was made.

In the last race, even with David and Rhyss 'playing it safe' on the U flag start, they managed to find a way to the front of the fleet to do the clean sweep.

Second overall were Kayne and Louise Binks and third was Anton Mann with Danne-Rae Sawyer, who managed to sneak ahead of the unlucky Neil Forster and Rachel Fowler.

The handicap State champions were Rebecca and Roger Best, followed by Samantha and Kate Best then Justin and Jess McAullay.

Ollie Roodhouse was the first junior skipper.

GBYC was the top club.

It was pleasing to see a sizeable number of new Tasar sailors competing in their first State Championship.




Tasar Association of WA

2021-22 - 36th Western Australian State Championships
Royal Perth Yacht Club
Sailed as part of the RPYC Mini Series
12-13th February 2022

NOR:    here
Results: here


Tasar Association of WA

2020-21 - 35th Western Australian State Championships
Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club
7th November 2020 and 12th December 2020

TAWA States Wrap up.

5 Races were held over two separate weekends at Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club. 
The first 3 races were held during November. The fleet was greeted by a gentle West South Westerly at about 12 to 14 knots. The fleet of 14 boats enjoys the flat water of Comit Bay and the moderate breeze. The racing was very close through the entire fleet, however Escape Boat sailed by Scott Olsen and Julie Olsen sailed strongly to have 3 wins by the end of the day.
Race 1 - 1st Escape Boat, 2nd Critical Path, 3rd Tae Think Again
Race 2 - 1st Escape Boat, 2nd Critical Path, 3rd Tae Think Again
Race 3 - 1st Escape Boat, 2nd Tae Think Again, 3rd Critical Path 
Races 4 and 5 were held during December in a West South Westerly again, though the wind strength this time was about 14 to 16 knots. This time Critical Path sailed by David Meehan and Rhyss Edwards managed two wins, beating the eventual State Champions Escape Boat in both races. Tae Think Again wrapped up 3rd place.
Race 4 - 1st Critical Path, 2nd Escape Boat, 3rd Tae Think Again  
Race 5 - 1st Critical Path, 2nd  Escape Boat, 3rd  Unleashed
Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club did a great job accommodating the fleet. The courses were excellent, true and fair beats and great fast reaches. The sailing water is fantastic and the club facilities are excellent. 
The presentation were held after racing on Saturday to reward all the price winners.  Robin Olsen made an emotional speech to the competitors saying thanks TAWA for awarding life membership to him and his late wife Sue Olsen. Both Sue and Robin were recognised for their longstanding support of Tasar Sailing in Western Australia. 
After the presentation a social was held, where nearly 40 sailors, family and friends associated with TAWA stayed for meals at the club. This was a fantastic turnout to cap off some great sailing. Part of the social included a door prize.  The prize a brand new Tasar Style training Jib provided by Brizo Sails and Canvas was won by Julie Olsen. 
Thank you to all the volunteers at Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club. Thanks you to all competitors for making it such a great event and we hope to see you next time.
Overall Results:
1st - Escape Boat - Scott Olsen and Julie Olsen
2nd - Critical Path - David Meehan and Rhyss Edwards
3rd - Tae Thing Again - Lloyd Lissiman and Fiona Lissiman
  Junior Champion:
1st - Crisp - Dennis Dixon and Peter Brown
2nd - Charisma - Ollie Roodhouse and Ben Roodhouse
Consistency Results:
1st - Zailing - Trevor Date and Luke
2nd - Butterfly Effect - Kate Best and Roger best
3rd - Crisp - Dennis Dixon and Peter Brown

Champion Club:

Geographe Bay Sailing Club
Best Placed new comer:
1st - Bandicootz - Michael Coote and Glenda Coote
Full results: here

Tasar Association of WA

2020-21 - 35th Western Australian State Championships
Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club
7th November 2020 and 12th December 2020

NOR:  here

Sailing Instructions: here

Overall Results: here

 States Flyer 2020